Book Review: More Than This by Patrick Ness (Spoilers)

‘More Than This’ is very much what it says on the tin. It’s about the idea that there could be a lot more to life than you know. It features a boy who drowns, and ends up waking up in a mysterious place where he’s not sure whether he’s in some kind of afterlife, or maybe there’s more to life than he once knew.

21969786

I feel like I should have liked this a lot more than I did. Don’t get me wrong, it was a good book and I enjoyed reading it, but my mind wasn’t blown. I’ve read lots of reviews to see if there was something that I just wasn’t getting but can’t seem to find the answer anywhere. It was well written,  I specifically liked the way that the characters back stories had a slow reveal as the revelations of their current state came through. It had a good plot although, it did feel like a bit of a slow burner with a lot of the action happening at the end. So it took me a while to figure out why I wasn’t that excited about it, and then it hit me. I couldn’t relate to any of the characters, they just seemed very 2D. They all had their own histories and troubles they went through in their lives, but it felt very forced. Then maybe they were meant to be, if it really was a story Seth had made up in his head, would the other characters not feel real? That was one of the best things about this book, you never really got an answer. We still don’t know how things ended for Seth, which makes the ending perfect for philosophy of this book. Who knows, maybe there really will be more.

 

Leave a comment