Book Review: Heart and Brain: An Awkward Yeti Collection by Nick Seluk

Heart and Brain tells the story of, yes you guessed it, a heart and a brain. The Awkward Yeti is a collection of comics consisting of the awkward yeti’s body parts. Sounds odd, but it’s a surprisingly genius concept. This book focuses on the heart and brain as they clash trying to deal with life’s dilemmas.

25205337

This is a first for me in reviewing a comic book, but I just couldn’t resist. Ever since I found out about the awkward yeti I’ve become a bit obsessed. I think one of the things that makes this concept great is that the strips are so relatable. Given my job situation at the moment my favourite has to be the strip where the yeti is is trying to sleep and the brain is telling him to analyse every possible scenario where he can mess up in his job interview the next day. The strips are quite simple, but effective, with a great dynamic between the brain and the heart. Another thing I liked was how some of the strips followed on from each other to create a mini story within the book. My favourite character has got to be the heart, if we could live our lives like the heart in this book then we’d all be a lot happier, completely broke, but happy.

The only downside to this book is that it only really features the heart and the brain, which I get is the point, but the other characters featured in the online comics are definitely missed. However, I have seen that another book will be released later this year featuring all characters so I will be first in line to buy that 🙂

Check out the awkward yeti website to see some of the strips not featured in the book http://theawkwardyeti.com/

One thought on “Book Review: Heart and Brain: An Awkward Yeti Collection by Nick Seluk

Leave a comment