Single Review: Cry – The Used

When it comes to The Used I always imagine what the song will feel like live, this is because out of all the bands I’ve seen they’re probably one of the most fun. That is why I’m a bit unsure about the song. The more I listen to it the more it’s starting to grow on me. However, it still does feel like it’s missing something. It’s not so much the lack of screaming as it is in there and The Used have proved themselves time again by creating songs with clean vocals that have just as much energy. It’s not necessarily the slow verses because they make the chorus stand out a bit more, which adds to effect. But as I’m writing I realise that maybe it is that, the chorus itself is catchy and a good sing along, but it’s nothing special and only sounds good within the song because the verses aren’t that great. The highlight of the song has to be the bridge where the energy seems to all build up. I’m not saying its a bad song, it’s just not up to the standard I’ve come to expect from the band.

Leave a comment